French Immersion Graduation

As the end of the school year drew to a close, our French Immersion families gathered to celebrate the end of the school year, and those Year 9 students who, this year, graduated the program.

In what was the perfect setting, the girls and their loved ones were in joyous spirits as they joined together at The Finch on the Range. 

For our Year 9 girls, the program has been an intensive and challenging experience, but also incredibly rewarding. Throughout their three years in the Program, the French Immersion girls have been taught over 1000 hours of classes in French. 

This tremendous achievement by all of the French Immersion students is a testament to both their fortitude and commitment to learning.

Head of Department – French Immersion, Mr Morère, reflected on the very busy but rewarding year that the girls had experienced. The students had overcome the complexities experienced taking on a new language in Year 7, a language that many of the girls had little to no prior experience with. 

Our graduating Year 9 class which comprised of Lou Anderson, Matilda Cosgrave, Bailey Crisp, Alison Danckwerts, Holly Donaldson, Stella Eames, Ava Fitzpatrick, Felicity Goldthorpe, Bonnie Ladner, Amy Leis, Kate Leis, Macy Martyr, Eloise McLoughlin, Kate Roper, Lara Shephard and Sarcha Webb graduate not only having learnt an additional language, but have utilised additional methods of retaining information and learning.   

Congratulations to Bailey Crisp, who was awarded the annual Linda Gray Memorial Trophy which acknowledges participation and perseverance.

As the formalities of the evening continued, the girls were awardd their certificates and 2022 French Immersion hoodies. With the award ceremony drawing to completion, the Year 9 cohort entertained the guests by sharing just a few of their favourite memories of their time in the Program and came together to sing, ‘Champs-Élysées’.

Congratulations to all of our French Immersion students, along with their families for the continued dedication and support. A further congratulations is extended to our annual prize recipients:

Year 7
Top achiever prize: Ruby Reinhardt 
Most positive student: Arabella Backhous

Year 8
Top achiever prize: Amélie Zahra
Most positive student: Palakh Garg

Year 9
Top achiever prize: Jocelyn King 
Most positive student: Kate Roper.